Notable Appointments

First Female Attorney General

Hon S.Eva Wanasundera PC

Hon. Shanthi Eva Wanasundera PC was appointed as the 26th Attorney General of Sri Lanka in August 2011, thus becoming the first female Attorney General in the history of the Attorney General’s Department. She was also the first female Senior State Counsel, Deputy Solicitor General, Additional Solicitor General and Solicitor General. She is presently serving as a Judge of the Supreme Court.



First Female State Counsel 

Justice Shiranee Tillekawardena

Justice Tillekawardena, the first female to be appointed as a State Counsel in the history of the Attorney General’s Department. She was later appointed as the first female High Court Judge of Sri Lanka and  also became the first female Judge of the Court of Appeal as well as the first female President of the Court of Appeal. Subsequently she was elevated as a Judge of the Supreme Court and also acted on several occasions as Chief Justice. She retired in April 2014.


Past officers who have held prominent public office
Cabinet Ministers
  • Tiruchelvam QC
  • Tyronne Fernando PC
  • M.H.M. Ashraff PC
  • M.H.M.Naina Marikkar
  • Tilak Marapone PC


 Governor of a Province
  • Justice P. Ramanathan


Deputy Speaker 
  • Chandima Weerakkody


Members of Parliament
  • S.L. Gunasekara
  • Chula Bandara
  • Raviraj


Secretary General of Parliament
  • Sam Wijesinghe
  • Dhammika Dassanayake


Secretary Ministry of Justice
  • Suhada Gamalath PC


Chairman of the Public Service Commission  
  • Justice Priyantha Perera
  • Justice Sathya Hettige PC


Chairman of the Commission to investigate Allegations of Bribery and Corruption 
  • Justice T.A. de S. Wijesundera
  • Justice Ameer Ismail
  • Justice Jagath Balapatabendi
  • ASG D.D.Wickramasinghe
  • ASG Sarath Jayamanna


 Attorney General of Seychelles
  • Tony Fernando
  • Ananda Amaranath


 Solicitor General of Marshall Islands
  • Douglas Premaratne PC


 Solicitor General of Dominican Republic
  • A.R.C.Perera